77 Ontario Municipalities Opt out of Cannabis Retail

By Whitney Abrams | January 24, 2019

The deadline for Ontario municipalities to opt out of housing cannabis retail locations within their boundary passed on January 22, 2019, with 77 municipalities opting out.

The lucky 25 retail cannabis lottery winners who were announced on January 11, 2019, had to submit their detailed application for a Retail Operator Licence Application by January 18. These locations will be based in the remaining 337 municipalities separated into five regions:

  • East Region: 5 stores
  • GTA Region: 6 stores
  • North Region: 2 stores
  • Toronto Region: 5 stores
  • West Region: 7 stores

For a full list of municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores, visit:

Whitney Abrams

Whitney Abrams

Whitney’s work focuses on providing regulatory advice and advocating on behalf of cannabis businesses in the North American market. She is a frequent contributor to Canada Cannabis Legal.
Turn on Javascript!

Comments (0)

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>